Japan – here I come! (and more…)

Japan

The period between the end of the year and the new year is definitely one of the most culturally rich time of the year in Japanese calendar. I remember reading long ago, ‘you see people’s true nature and how they really live in a cold country, if you visited them at the coldest part of the year.’ I love the burning red forests in autumn, around the month of my own birth. I miss the traditional festivals and its takoyaki stand, goldfish-catchers, dances, mikoshi and fireworks in summer. But that uneasy feeling of everyone in town rushing towards wrapping up another year, and the solemn expression on their faces as they welcome the new year, that is something else.

This year I will be in Osaka from early December. For the first time in years I get to join the table on my baby brother’s birthday dinner. I am also photographing some natural-emotion portrait while I’m there. If you, living in Japan, have come across my blog and interested in natural portraits the way I make them, please let me know. Maybe we can arrange a time while I’m there.

Alternatively, if you like me to photograph any particular theme, I would be happy to take on an assignment. I am in a unique position in that I totally understand how locals think and do things, but I live far away from it that I can maintain outsider’s point of view to things. I am still fascinated by the vending machine with tv screen in it playing the coffee drink commercial non-stop! I can take hundreds of photos of those, if that’s what you like me to do 🙂

Also… our friends in Seoul – for the first time in my life, I am planning on visiting your beautiful big city. I have always wanted to. And this time, I’m visiting in the middle of your freezing winter. I have my sub-zero jacket, but I could use some decent winter shoes and warm up from inside with a nice steamboat of kimchi, spam and instant noodle! Your city is good 20 degree colder than Osaka in winter. That is not funny! I haven’t decided the exact dates for my Korea trip, and I have little idea of what I should not miss in my first trip there. So if you have suggestions, please do send them my way. And of course, I should be able to make time for a shoot or two… and my dear friend Loomi has a photo studio with the Korean traditional dress available for rental. Well, it’s all set – all we need is for you to book me in!

If you have any info on events, art/photography exhibitions, orchestra concert (especially if you have a spare ticket for me), etc. please do let me know as I wouldn’t want to miss them 🙂

East Asia – it would be really nice to see you again. And you, my friend, I’m looking forward to seeing you, too!